Faculty & Speakers
Faculty and speakers include current and former urban superintendents, leaders of highly regarded organizations, senior government officials and other experts. When faculty and speakers share their unique advice and perspectives, Fellows gain invaluable insight on the most effective leadership, management and innovation strategies currently practiced in any field.

Faculty and speakers have included:

Wanda Bamberg, superintendent, Aldine Independent School District
Michael Bennet, U.S. senator; former superintendent, Denver Public Schools
Carl Cohn, member, California State Board of Education; former superintendent, Long Beach Unified School District
Rudy Crew, former superintendent, Miami-Dade County Public Schools
Rachel Curtis, consultant, Human Capital Strategies for Urban Schools
Dr. Xavier De La Torre, superintendent, Santa Clara County Office of Education; former superintendent, Socorro Independent School District
Arne Duncan, U.S. Secretary of Education
Mike Feinberg, co-founder of KIPP Foundation; superintendent, KIPP Houston
Howard Fuller, director, Institute for the Transformation of Learning at Marquette University's College of Education
Kevin Hall, CEO, Charter School Growth Fund
Kati Haycock, president, The Education Trust
Brad Jupp, senior program advisor on teacher initiatives, U.S. Department of Education
Don McAdams, former president, Houston Independent School District Board of Education
Tom Payzant, former superintendent, Boston Public Schools
Doug Prouty, president, Montgomery County Education Association
Michelle Rhee, founder and CEO, StudentsFirst; former chancellor, District of Columbia Public Schools
Henry Roman, president, Denver Classroom Teachers Association
Ariela Rozman, CEO, The New Teacher Project
John Simpson, former superintendent, Norfolk Public Schools
Margaret Spellings, former U.S. Secretary of Education
Adam Urbanski, president, Rochester Teachers Association; vice president, American Federation of Teachers

Every year, we also hear from some of our alumni, including:

John Barry, former superintendent, Aurora Public Schools

Tom Boasberg, superintendent, Denver Public Schools

Jean-Claude Brizard, former CEO, Chicago Public Schools

John Covington, chancellor, Education Achievement Authority

John Deasy, superintendent, Los Angeles Unified School District

Deborah Gist, commissioner of elementary and secondary education, Rhode Island Department of Education

Peter Gorman, former superintendent, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools

William Hite, superintendent, The School District of Philadelphia

Vincent Matthews, superintendent, San Jose Unified School District

Thelma Meléndez de Santa Ana, deputy mayor, City of Los Angeles; former superintendent, Santa Ana Unified School District

Shael Polakow-Suransky, deputy chancellor, New York City Department of Education

Mark Roosevelt, former superintendent, Pittsburgh Public Schools

Joel Rose, co-founder and CEO, New Classrooms Innovation Partners

Robert Runcie, superintendent, Broward County Public Schools

Abelardo Saavedra, former superintendent, Houston Independent School District